Useful Resources for Those of Us in the Job Market   Leave a comment

As many of my readers know, I am a librarian in the job market. I’ve been looking for full-time work in my field since I completed my Master’s degree in 2009. During the course of my search, I have come across some very helpful resources to aid my efforts. I know that many of my fellow librarians (and fellow people in general) are in the same situation so I thought I would share some of the best (mostly) library-oriented resources that I’ve come across in my job hunting journey.

Job hunting is exhausting, especially for cats.

The Torment of Terrible Cover Letters – A blog post written by Jennica Rogers in 2011. Rogers is Director of Libraries at the State University of New York at Potsdam and offers some excellent and easily applicable advice on writing a good cover letter. Or, at least, she tells you what NOT to do. Highly recommended.

Foundations of Libraries: So you want to be an academic librarian series – I only recently found this through a LinkedIn group discussion and I haven’t had much time to explore it. Judging from the initial entry and skimming the discussion on LinkedIn, it promises to be a very useful and insightful resource for those of us interested in academic library jobs.

Hiring Librarians – A blog by Emily Weak, a fellow job-hunting librarian. She surveys hiring librarians (just like the title says!)  about the process of reviewing applications, interviewing, and hiring. Straightforward and clear information. Recommended.

Ask a Manager – I found this only today and I’m already in love with it! The author, Allison Green, managed a business for years before she decided to leave and do independent consulting. She answers reader questions on everything from following up on rejection letters to interviewing in odd situations to working with gross coworkers. Her blog is not industry-specific but she offers sound, no-nonsense insight.  Highly recommended for anyone in the workforce or trying to get in the workforce.

Open Cover Letters – A blog of cover letters that eventually lead to job offers in library work. Good for getting ideas on improving your cover letters. Compiled by Stephen Flynn, the Emerging Technologies Librarian at the College of Wooster.

Good luck, fellow job-seekers!

Posted March 20, 2012 by Alicia Schofield in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

